Tuesday, December 2, 2008

What is Pay Per Click advertising!

What is a Pay per Click Ad:-

Pay-per-click advertising is a means of advertising on the Internet where the advertiser does not pay a fee to place an ad on a webpage, but rather pays a certain amount of money each time someone clicks on their ad and is taken to a page on their website.

A pay per click (PPC) ad campaign is a series of sponsored advertisements resulting from a search on a specific set of keywords. An advertiser may write pay per click ads and select keywords they believe will be used to search for their product/service by users of online search engines. An advertiser does not pay for the appearance of their ad in search results. They only pay when a user clicks on the sponsored ad. In addition, most PPC services have ways of detecting click fraud so advertisers are only charged for qualified clicks. Pay per click advertisers can set a budget to control their advertising expenses. Pay per click ads can also be positioned on websites which have agreed to display a service's ads. Pay per click services include advertising networks, search engines, and affiliate programs.

What is a Pay per Click Ad:-

When the pay per click ads are displayed on a search engine, the ads are independent of the search engine's primary results (also known as organic results). Traditionally, the organic search results are displayed on the left side and take up a majority of the page. The search engine determines whether a web page is relevant to the search and returns the most relevant information in the primary results. As such, an advertiser is not charged if a user clicks on an advertiser’s website listing in the organic search results. These results are not related to the pay per click ads. In addition, buying ads from a search engine will not directly improve the search result rank of your website.

There are other options advertisers often get confused with pay per click ads. The first option is pay per impression. This is where the advertiser is basically paying for the number of times a publisher displays their ad. Whether users click on their ad or not, the advertiser pays each time their ad is displayed. Normally, the advertiser pays for ad views by the thousand. The second option is pay per action. Under this advertising format, the advertising service has the job of converting the offer of the advertiser. The advertiser only pays when the the service is able to get users to do the advertiser's action which could be any number of things.

Why Use Pay Per Click ads:-

Pay per click (PPC) advertising has become the largest portion of the online advertising market and has an annual growth rate of approximately 30%. Pay per click revenue is the reason behind the growth of Google and Yahoo!. In addition, other search engines are building their own pay per click services. All of this is the result of providing pay per click advertisers with a cost effective model they can control and see a return on their investment.

A pay per click ad campaign can significantly increase traffic to your website in a matter of minutes. As soon as your ads are activated for search they can be clicked by your potential customers. While there is a wait for a publication to be issued or a certain time slot for a commercial to air, a pay per click ad can begin circulation immediately. Exposure to your website will also increase, as your pay per click ad and web address will appear alongside search results for any keyword you want to be associated with your product/service. There is also no risk that your pay per click ad will not reach its intended audience while incurring a significant cost. You are not charged unless a user clicks on your ad. In addition, since users have specifically searched with your chosen keywords you know they are in your intended audience and are more likely to be interested in your product/service.

It is also possible to place your pay per click ad along side those of your direct competitors. Your ad will appear for any keyword you choose. If there is a product/service that is a close substitution for yours you may wish to research the ads of the competition and choose alternate keywords to place your pay per click ads accordingly. For example, if you sell blue widgets and a competitor sells purple widgets, but the two may be used to serve the same purpose, you would also want to include the keyword “purple widget” and corresponding variations in your list of keywords. You would format the text of your pay per click ad to inform users that a blue widget is just as good (maybe even better) than a purple widget.

Benefits of a pay per click campaign:-

Increased visibility in internet search results

Keyword selection provides a targeted audience who are more likely to be interested in your product/service

Easy, quick and effective way to reach a wider audience of consumers

Increases website traffic

No minimum spending requirement

You are only charged if a user clicks on your pay per click ad

Ads can be instantly adjusted to changes in product, competition, etc.

Begin driving traffic to your website in minutes

Instant ROI statistics

Each dollar is spent directly on advertising

Marketing exposure on other premier and well-known websites

Able to run seasonal and promotional pay per click ads at no additional cost

How PPC works:-

An advertiser selects keywords and creates pay per click (PPC) ads, which directly correspond to and describe the product/service they are selling or wish to advertise. When an internet user conducts a search using one of the pre-selected keywords the pay per click ad may appear next to general search results in an area specifically set aside for sponsored advertisements and links. Exactly where and when the pay per click ad is placed in sponsored search results depends on the daily budget set by the advertiser, the amount the advertiser is willing to spend on a click for the individual keyword, and the ad’s effectiveness. For some pay per click ad services, effectiveness is the combination of the ad’s click thru rate (CTR) and the quality of the landing page. The higher the maximum allowed cost per click is, the higher ranking your pay per click ad will have. In order to secure the top ad position the pay per click ad must not only have a high bid, but must also be rated as relevant and have a history of generating clicks. Ad quality is important and may even help lower pay per click costs.

Keywords with a frequent search rate tend to be more competitive and incur a higher cost-per-click than keywords that are not frequently searched on. CPC is related to advertiser competition, as well as the overall quality and relevancy of the ad itself. An advertiser may adjust their maximum CPC and other factors to increase their position and ideally maintain an average position as one of the top three listings in the search.

The first goal of a pay per click ad is to lead people to your website. The second, but primary goal is to get those same people to complete the advertiser’s desired action. This action is called a conversion and can be a purchase, registration, comment, page view, etc. For example, if an advertiser is selling blue widgets they would run pay per click ads in an effort to drive customers to their website where they can buy a blue widget. In this case, a pay per click conversion would be an order that includes a blue widget.

In addition to keyword campaigns, advertisers may opt to choose specific websites on which to place their pay per click ads. Most search engines have a network of sites that display their ads. For example, you may want to target sites that provide information about blue widgets, widgets in general, activities that widgets can be used for, etc. Your pay per click ad will appear in a similar format and ranking system as on search results, but have different restraints based on the ad formats. For site placement PPC you also have the option of running image ads instead of a text ad, an image depicting or describing your product will appear, when a user clicks on the image they will be brought to your site just like in the text ads. There are various editorial standards and formatting procedures for placing image ads. Not all pay per click ad services offer site placement and different formats for your ads

Create ur PPC campaign:-

The initial creation of your pay per click (PPC) ads is the most time-intensive part of pay per click advertising. Managing your PPC campaigns usually only requires periodic check ups and tweaking. Here are the steps involved when you set up your ads and campaigns.

Select Your Keywords

Write Your Pay Per Click Ads

Create a Landing Page

Set Your Cost Per Click (CPC)

Understand Your Daily Budget

Select ur Keywords:-

Keywords are the words an advertiser uses to trigger the showing of their pay per click (PPC) ad. When somebody types one of your keywords into the search engine, your ad will be shown. If your pay per click ad is displayed on a website network, your ad will be shown when a web page in the network has your keywords on the page.

Keyword Overview

Review your website and harvest the keywords. Include unique numbers or IDs for your products/services.

How does your product/service differ from the competition? What features set you apart?

Consider your potential customers. How would they search for your product/service?

Do not forget about keyword variations. These include singular/plural versions, misspellings, abbreviations and acronyms.

Consider the product or service you are trying to sell. Do you sell it locally, by region, nationally, or internationally? You may want to target your pay per click campaign in the geographic location in which you operate. When choosing your keywords, carefully consider all aspects of your product/service. Generate a list of keywords based on words defining your product, your location, what your product is used for, etc. Carefully consider what terms users are likely to use in searching for your product/service. First-time pay per click advertisers often misunderstand this point. It is more important to use the keywords your potential and current customers use than the ones you and your organization use to describe your product/service.

First-time pay per click advertisers often misunderstand this point. It is more important to use the keywords your potential and current customers use than the ones you and your organization use to describe your product/service.

For example, do you sell widgets or blue widgets specifically? If you are the ACME Widget Company and you sell blue widgets your pay per click keyword list would include the following:

ACME Widget

ACME Widgets

ACME blue widget

ACME blue widgets

Blue widget

Blue widgets

This list is only a partial representation of potential keywords. It is important to include both singular and plural versions of keywords, as well as any other additional variations that may be made. The more precise your keywords, the more effective your pay per click ad will be in reaching your desired audience. After you have created an initial list of keywords, ask yourself if your product/service needs to be localized. In other words, do you want to or have to run your pay per click ads relative to a region? Let’s say our example company, ACME Widget Company can only ship its blue widgets to the Charlotte, NC area. In this example, the advertiser does not want to waste money on generating clicks with people in Colorado. So the keyword list would resemble the following:

ACME Widget, Charlotte

ACME Widgets, Charlotte

ACME blue widget, Charlotte

ACME blue widgets, Charlotte

Blue widget, Charlotte

Blue widgets, Charlotte

Other Methods To Find Keywords

Go to the website of one of your competitors and find the pages where their products/services best match yours. Landing pages are generally your best bet. Click on View Source in your web browser and check the META tags for keywords.

Given the lessened impact of META keywords for search engine optimization (SEO), lots of webmasters no longer use them. However, you can still filter the content on their page to harvest keywords. Use Google's Keyword Tool and click on the tab for Site-Related Keywords. Just enter the URL of the page you want to pull keywords from and the tool will return a list of keywords used most often.

Choose your Keyword Matching Options:-

Now that you have settled on a list of keywords for your pay per click (PPC) ads, you need to determine what matching options you should use. There are several different keyword matching options, and they vary from search engine to search engine. Using Google AdWords as an example, all keywords are put into the "broad match" category unless otherwise specified.

Broad match will allow pay per click ads to appear even if the search entry does not exactly match the keyword or keyword phrase. For example, if an advertiser used a broad match for the keyword phrase red widget then the pay per click ads for the following keywords would be displayed.

red widget

widget red

red and purple striped widget

red widget for sale

red rocks community college widget repair

If you want your pay per click ads to be more cost effective, then you should use phrase or exact match.

Phrase match allows the advertiser to be more selective in when a pay per click ad appears in search results. A keyword is defined as phrase match if entered into keyword list in quotation marks (""). For example, if an advertiser used a phrase match for the keyword phrase "red widget" then the pay per click ads for the following keywords would be displayed.

red widget

widget red

red and purple striped widget

red widget for sale

red rocks community college widget repair

Exact match will only allow the pay per click ad to appear if the exact keyword is searched upon. A keyword is defined as exact match if it is entered into the keyword list in brackets ([]). For example, if an advertiser used an exact match for the keyword phrase [red widget] then the pay per click ads for the following keywords would be displayed.

red widget

widget red

red and purple striped widget

red widget for sale

red rocks community college widget repair

Negative match allows an advertiser to withhold their pay per click ad from certain keywords. The other keyword matching options specify when your ad is triggered. The negative keyword match helps advertisers to refine their pay per click campaigns so they can be more cost effective by removing scenarios that trigger their ad when it is not applicable. As an example, an advertiser can prevent their pay per click ad from appearing for the following. If you want to include the singular and plural versions of a keyword you have to add both of them in your negative matching.

cheap red widget

free red widget

repair red widget

red widget for rent

red widget lost

If you are interested in sending as much traffic as possible to your website, you should use broad match for your keywords. If you want your pay per click ads to be more cost effective, then you should use phrase or exact match with negative keywords. The phrase and exact match options narrow the search phrases that will result in the display of your pay per click ad, however the users who click on your ad will be much more qualified. My experience has found that phrase match is the best option to use when starting a new pay per click campaign. Remember to try different match options to find the one that works best for your pay per click ads.

Write ur Pay per Click ads:-

Once you have compiled your list of keywords, it is time your write your pay per click (PPC) ad. Your keywords will bring impressions, but your ad copy will turn them into clicks. When you are writing your PPC ads, you should consider the following.

Characteristics of a Well-Written Ad

Use keywords: Keywords will appear bolded in your ad title, description and display URL.

Includes a call to action: This is usually a verb that invites the user to take the next step and is relative to your product/service.

Find a balance: There is a the middle road between a boring ad that generates no interest and an ad that seems so unbelievable that it turns off potential customers.

Speak their language: Use language that appeals to your potential customers. They not only understand what you are saying, but use the same language in their niche or industry.

Good display URL: Try to use a website URL that will support and match your pay per click ad.

Before you get started, we recommend that you create a pay per click ad for each keyword in your list. This will allow you to write more specific ad copy since each ad is triggered by one keyword. In search engine results, if the search phrase is contained in the ad that it triggers, it will appear in bold. A pay per click ad containing several bold words is more likely to be noticed and clicked on amongst the competition. A lower ad ranking can be offset or overcome by a well-written ad.

Ad Examples

Here are some examples of well-written pay per click ads that correlate with their keywords.Keywords Well-Written Pay Per Click Ad Text

blue widget Need a blue widget?

Try our blue widget for a great

solution to your blue widget needs.

acmewidget.com/bluewidget

Charlotte blue widgets Blue Widgets in Charlotte

Try our blue widgets for a great

widget solution in Charlotte, NC.

Charlotte.acmewidget.com

Notice the second ad has to be written slightly different to account for the plural form of "blue widget" and the addition of "Charlotte". There is a difference between "blue widget" and "blue widgets" which is reflected in the bolded terms. The keywords are all very similar, but have very different formatting needs in order for a pay per click ad to run in the most effective manner. Here are some examples of less effective ads which do not give consideration for bolding keywords and contain a more generic product/service statement.Keywords Poorly-Written Pay Per Click Ad Text

blue widget ACME Widget Company

Our widgets are durable, custom

made and cost effective. Call us.

www.acmewidget.com

Charlotte blue widgets ACME Widget Company

Our NC widgets are durable, custom

made and cost effective. CLT office.

www.acmewidget.com

The pay per click ad still conveys the message of selling a widget product, but is not specific to the keyword, and does not have any bold words to encourage differentiation amongst the competition. The pay per click ad just will not stand out.

A pay per click ad containing several bold words is more likely to be noticed and clicked on amongst the competition.

There are several different pay per click ad services and each one has slightly different ad text rules. As an example, we will use Google Adwords which is one of the leading pay per click ad services. Google requires a format of 25 characters for the headline and 35 characters for the two describing lines. The display URL must be a clear representation of the site. The home page is the recommended display name, but the pay per click ad may actually use a different landing page. In order to run both the "acmewidget.com" and "acmewidgets.com" domain names you would need to own both domains and have them directed to the same site. Keep in mind that you can set up A Records on your domain to gain this same advantage. Using this same example, assume you only own acme.com. Create an subdomain for "widget" and point it to your website. This means when visitors use http://widget.acme.com they will arrive at your website. You can create as many A Records as you like and it is much more cost effective than purchasing the same number of domains. Pay per click ads are formatted in an almost identical manner on other search engines so variations will should be minor.

If you have the time, I highly recommend you set up multiple ads for each keyword. Over time, you will see what ads perform better and this advertising practice is often referred to as A/B split testing. If you are using AdWords, Google will use the ad variations that perform better automatically if you select the option within your campaign.

Create A landing Page

Behind the pay per click (PPC) ad text, the landing page is probably the most important part of your PPC campaign. After viewing and clicking on your pay per click ad, the landing page is the first view the user will have of your product/service. A landing page should be directly related to the subject and keywords of the ad and one click away (or less) from the conversion (i.e. a purchase, registration, etc). The more relevant the material on your landing page the more likely the visitor will complete the desired action.

Concentrate On Conversions

The converstion action should be up front and obvious. Don't make the user hunt for it.

Do not give the visitor a lot of choices. Try to reduce the number of avenues a visitor can take to leave the landing page. Instead funnel them towards the conversion.

Try to put the conversion's first step on the page. For example, the visitor can add the product to their shopping cart or sign up for the newsletter on the landing page.

Consider repeating the conversion opportunity at the bottom of the page. It can act as a next step for the visitor. This can be especially useful on longer pages that require scrolling.

Blue Widget Example

You want to turn the visitor's click into a conversion and the best way to increase your conversion rate is to make sure your landing pages directly correlate to your pay per click ads.

For this example, assume we are advertising blue widgets with pay per click ads and our conversion is when a visitor buys a blue widget on our website. In order to increase the chance of turning a click into a conversion, the landing page should be the page of the site devoted to information about blue widgets, preferably one step away from the order page for blue widgets. It would be ideal if the visitor arrived at the product detail page for the blue widget. This page would contain all of the information related to the blue widget and give the potential customer an opportunity to add the widget to their shopping cart. The goal and primary purpose for this pay per click advertiser is to get the customer to buy the item they are advertising in their ad.

If the landing page provides information on the blue widget mentioned in the pay per click ad, users will not have to search the rest of the website for the information they want and will be less likely to abandon the site in search of a more user friendly landing page. Internet users are not conditioned to having to spend a lot of time looking for what they want so you should be mindful of this when creating your landing pages as well. The same rule applies to writing your pay per click ad and creating your landing page, include the keyword phrase the visitor used in their search. Your landing page should have multiple instances of the keywords (i.e. blue widgets) used by your pay per click ad.

Landing Page Tips

Consider removing the website navigation from your landing page.

Do not feature other products/services that are not directly related to your pay per click ad.

Stay away from sending visitors to your home page. It represents your website and not just the advertised product/service.

Take the time to create a custom, but simplified landing page.

If available, include a large photo of your product/service. Images communicate faster than text.

Be careful not to have too much text and avoid scolling. Too much copy on your landing page can overwhelm the visitor.

Do not put unnecessary hurdles and steps between the visitor and your conversion.

If you do not get the conversion the first time, you can get it later. Try to collect the visitor's email address so you can contact them later.

Try different things and see how it affects your conversions. Tweak and test your landing pages.

Remember, you have already paid for the visitor’s click on your pay per click ad and it is not the final step you want them to take. You want to turn the visitor's click into a conversion and the best way to increase your conversion rate is to make sure your landing pages directly correlate to your pay per click ads. If you are only gaining traffic without conversions, you are not getting a good return on your investment and just wasting your money.

Set your Cost per Click:-

Once you have set up your keyword list and written your pay per click (PPC) ads, you will be asked to set a maximum cost per click (CPC) for each keyword. This does not mean you will automatically be charged this price each time someone clicks on your pay per click ad. The amount you specify is just a bid. It states you are willing to pay up to, but no more than the amount per click. You will only be charged the amount necessary for your pay per click ad to beat out the closest competing bid. Your ad's history of performance also plays a role in your ad ranking.

You should keep in mind the limitations of your daily budget when setting the maximum CPC. If you have a daily budget of $3.00, and your maximum CPC for each keyword is $3.00, you could potentially only receive one click per day. Once your pay per click ad is clicked and you are charged for $3.00 (or less), your ads would stop running because your daily budget was reached.

You will only be charged the amount necessary for your pay per click ad to beat out the closest competing bid.

When setting the maximum CPC for each keyword you should also take into account the popularity of that keyword for search. It is generally better to avoid “round” numbers such as .00, .25, .50, .60, .75, etc. By making your maximum CPC .77 instead of .75 you have a greater chance of outbidding and the more common .75 bid. It’s a bit like the $1 strategy on “The Price is Right” in reverse. Most pay per click services offer an estimating tool as to how much a particular keyword is expected to be searched on and also an estimated cost to appear in the top positions. This is a good starting point, but your cost per click should settle out once you can make decisions based on real results.

Most pay per click advertisers want to get as many visitors to their website as possible but you need to be careful. Do not be tempted to increase your bids beyond a point where your ROI is not profitable. Sometimes advertisers get caught up in the drive for more traffic and this may not be cost productive. If you have to pay more for a visitor than they can potentially earn you, there is no point in setting the bid.

You can figure this out by reviewing your conversion rate. Most pay per click services offer advertisers the ability to track and record their conversions. This is done by placing a small amount of HTML and Javascript code on the page where conversion action is complete. When the visitor arrives at this page (after clicking on the pay per click ad), this lets the PPC service know the click through resulted in a conversion.

If your keyword has a low average cost per click with a high conversion rate, then you should consider increasing your bid. This will likely raise your pay per click ad ranking and give you more exposure which could translate to more clicks and conversions. However, if your keyword has a high cost per click with a low conversion rate, then reduce your bid. This will decrease your pay per click ad's exposure. Basically, this decision improves your return on investment by reducing the impact of a poorly performing pay per click ad. Internet traffic is changing all the time so you have to allow for time between changes.

When you make changes to your cost per click, use small amounts. Do not make big changes in your bids. Your pay per click campaigns will be much more cost effective and give you a better ROI if you make small changes. In addition, allow some time between bid changes so you gather enough data to see how effective your changes were.

Understand your Daily Budget:-

The daily budget directly controls the day to day running of the advertiser's entire pay per click (PPC) campaign and it is the primary way to control overall spending. The daily budget protects you from spending your entire monthly budget in a day. Most pay per click services do not have maximum and minimum limits for your daily budget (although some do have a minimum on keyword bids which should not be confused with the daily budget).

The delivery of your pay per click ad (i.e. ad delivery) is directly tied to your daily budget. If it is set too low, pay per click ads may run intermittently throughout the day and will be shut off once the budget is reached. The #1 reason why some advertisers can not find their pay per click ads is they have set their daily budget too low. For advertisers using Google AdWords, they should consider the daily budget that Google recommends. Sometimes Google's recommendation can be very high, but it should be used as a guide when setting your daily budget.

The #1 reason why some advertisers can not find their pay per click ads is they have set their daily budget too low.

The daily budget must also be considered when setting the maximum CPC for each keyword. For example, if the daily budget is $5.00 and the max CPC of each keyword is $5.00 you are potentially only allowing the campaign one click per day, and greatly limiting the exposure of your pay per click ads. However, if you have a daily budget of $5.00 and your maximum CPC for each keyword is $0.25 you have a much greater opportunity to run your pay per click ads and generate clicks. Different keywords will have different costs, but the daily budget should always be considered when selecting the maximum CPC of keywords. Generally, the greater the daily budget, the more flexibility in setting maximum CPC and the greater the chances of the pay per click ads appearing in the top three places for each search query.

For those pay per click advertisers who have a monthly budget and want to set their daily budget in that regard, most PPC services translate daily budget to monthly by using a 30-day month. For example, if you can only spend $90 a month, divide it by 30 to get a $3 daily budget. Do not divide by 31 or 28. It should also be noted that some pay per click services require the advertiser to set their budget on a monthly basis instead of daily, although most use the daily budget format.

Improve your PPC campaign:-

This is the portion of the website that applies to most pay per click (PPC) advertisers and you may be included in this group. You are generally satisfied with the results of your pay per click campaigns but you want to build on or fine tune your ads. I have separated some of the common areas where advertisers want to work optimize their pay per click ads. You will notice some topics overlap with others.

Improve Your Quality Score

Improve Your Click Through Rate: Improving your CTR will obviously increase the number of clicks.

Improve Your Conversion Rate: The conversion rate is dependent on the landing page so this area speaks to improving your landing page.

Increase Your Impressions

Improve your Quality Score:-

Quality score is a term that only applies to Google AdWords although the principle is applicable to all pay per click (PPC) services. In fact, most services have similar relevancy algorithms although they may not make the results available to the advertiser like Google AdWords does. With that said, all pay per click advertisers should consider implementing the suggestions below whether they use Yahoo! Search Marketing, Microsoft adCenter or another pay per click service.

How do I see my quality score:-

First, you may be wondering how to find out what your quality score is. After you log into Google AdWords, click on a campaign and then click on one of your ad groups. Once inside your ad group, click on the Keywords tab. Above your keywords your will see a link for Customize Columns. Click on it and select Show Quality Score in the drop down list. The Quality Score column should appear as the third column.

Quality score is fairly general and is measured at three levels: Great, OK and Poor. If you have a Great quality score, then you should feel pretty good. You can probably still find one or two areas where your relevancy could be improved, but your quality score will not go higher than Great. If you have an OK quality score, there are a few places you can make improvements. If you have a Poor quality score, then you definitely have some work to do. The good news is you will likely be able to see an improvement in your quality score pretty quickly even after you make only minor changes.

Why should I improve my quality score:-

The quality score for your pay per click ad affect the following areas.

Eligibility: Before your pay per click ad can begin running, it has to be approved. A very poor quality score will not allow your ad to be displayed and it will remain inactive, no matter how much your bid is.

Minimum Bid: Minimum bids are higher for pay per click ads with a poor quality score versus those with a high quality score.

Ad Ranking: A pay per click ad with a poor quality score will have to pay a higher cost per click than an ad with a good quality score for the same ad ranking.

How is quality score calculated:-

Quality score is a measure of relevance and the more relevant your pay per click ads are the better it is for everyone, including you. There are several factors that go into determining a pay per click ad's quality score. However, the quality score formula differs across ad formats. Here are some of the significant factors used to figure your pay per click ad's quality score.

Keyword relevance

Ad copy relevance

Landing page relevance

Click through rate (CTR)

Keyword performance history

Other relevance terms Google will not share

The first thing you will notice is the number of times "relevance" appears. Your pay per click ad's keyword, ad copy and landing page should be related to each other.

Write relevant Ad copy:-

Description: Your pay per click ad copy should be relevant to your keyword and landing page content. You need to incorporate both into your ad to get the best possible quality score.

Keyword Relevancy: Your ad should contain the keyword you are using to trigger it at least once, but hopefully you can include it twice. Ideally, you want to see it in the title and description. Sometimes, longer keywords do not allow this it should always be your goal. In order to do this most effectively, you will probably have to split large groups of keywords into smaller ones. Each keyword group should very similar in the keywords they share so your PPC ad copy is relevant to each one. Personally, I prefer to use one keyword per ad group. This gives me the most control and flexibility when change is necessary.

Landing Page Relevancy: Your PPC ad should have words and phrases displayed most frequently on your landing page. The best way to harvest those keywords is to use Google's Keyword Tool. Click on the tab for Site-Related Keywords and enter the URL of your landing page. The tool will return the keywords used most often in the page copy. This method is especially useful when you are not able to change your landing page content. I believe it is more important to include your trigger keywords first, but make a strong effort to use phrases from your landing page as well.

Reason: You are going to read this over and over, but it is all about relevancy. Your keyword, landing page, and ad copy will have a stronger association if they share your terms and phrases.

Make ur landing page more relevant:-

Description: Your landing page and ad copy should provide a smooth handoff. The landing page should deliver on whatever is promised, offered or advertised in the pay per click ad. In order for the Google AdsBot to determine this is true, you need to insert your keyword throughout the landing page. This process is very similar to optimizing your website for search engines (SEO). Here are a few suggestions.

HTML page title (Keyword): The HTML page title appears in the title bar of your web browser. If your landing page is used for multiple keywords then use your most successful keyword here since you can not include all of them.

Meta tags (): Meta tags have really lost their impact in regard to search engine optimization (SEO), however they can be used as a measure of relevance for a landing page so try to include your keywords in the description and keywords meta tags.

Page title (

Keyword

or

Keyword

):
This is the page title that is visible to the visitor with the web page. It is usually large, easily found and unique to each website.

Page content: Your keywords should be scattered throughout the landing page's content.

Alt tags (Keyword): This is another tag that has lost importance for SEO, however it can be utilized for landing page relevancy.

Once you have finished optimizing your landing page, you can see if Google thinks it is relevant by using their external keyword tool. Visit their tool, click on the Site-Related Keywords tab and then enter the URL of your landing page. The tool will return a list of keywords they found on your landing page and hopefully they will match your pay per click keywords. If not, you have more work to do.

Reason: Google and all pay per click services want to provide good results. A relevant landing page is more likely to lead to a conversion, making the pay per click ad more valuable to you, the user, and also the advertising service. Conversions are not included in the quality score algorithm, but making your landing page more useful will improve your conversion rate.

Improve ur CTR:-

Description: This tip is probably less useful since pay per click advertisers are always trying to improve their click through rates. There is a lot of information related to improving CTR and you should check out Improve Your Click Through Rate section.

Reason: A good click through rate indicates your pay per click ad answers the question the user is asking so your ad will be displayed more for similar searches.

Choose a more focused KWD matching option:-

Description: Consider using phrase or exact matching for your keywords to narrow the search phrases that can trigger your pay per click ads. While you will get fewer impressions, the ones you do get will be much more applicable to your pay per click ad.

Reason: By narrowing the scenarios by which your pay per click ad is displayed, you can write ad copy that is more specific to your keywords. A tighter relationship between your keyword phrase and ad copy helps your quality score. In addition, this will improve your click through rate because your pay per click ad will speak to the visitor's search phrase more.

Restrict ur pay per click ad exposure geographically:-

Description: If your product/service is only available in North Carolina then it is not relevant to people in California. Use location targeting or include geography names in your keywords to prevent people outside of your reach from viewing your pay per click ad.

Reason: This is another way to better define the audience who can view your pay per click ad. Your quality score will continue to improve as you eliminate scenarios which trigger your ad, but are not applicable.

Make ur website more credible:-

Description: You need to make your pay per click visitors feel like you are trustworthy. You can do this by providing pages for Privacy Policy, User Agreement, Terms of Use, About Us, Contact Us, etc. If you do e-commerce, you should offer pages for Shipping Policy and Return Policy. You have to select the ones that apply to your website.

Reason: This comes down to trust. Google and other major pay per click services do not want to send visitors to a fraudulent, bogus or unethical website. This is one form of a bad search result and they always want to provide good results. Make sure your provide the necessary information to make your visitors feel comfortable.

Improve ur CTR:-

If you are a pay per click (PPC) advertiser and have not tried to improve your click through rate (CTR), then you just have not been working with pay per click long enough. This request is only second to "What is a good click through rate?"

Why should I improve my CTR:-

Most pay per click advertisers have a natural desire to improve their CTR, but here are some official reasons.

Letting users know exactly what they can do on your website will increase the effectiveness of your pay per click ads and also increase the likelihood of a conversion.

Quality Score: Click through rate (CTR) is included in Google's quality score algorithm so you can improve your quality score by improving your CTR. Here are some benefits of improving your quality score.

Pay less for better ad ranking.

Lower minimum bids.

Your pay per click ads remain active.

Save Money: If your ads are also being used in a pay per impression model, you will save money by generating more clicks for the same amount of money.

Include your keywords in your adcopy:-

Description: Write your pay per click ad with keywords in mind. Use keywords in the ad copy as often as possible, while still keeping it as grammatically correct as possible. Pay per click services will not allow gimmicky phrasing such as "Widgets, Widgets, Widgets!!! Buy your Widgets here." The pay per click ad must still contain quality content. Try to include your keywords in the title and description at least once in each. Do not forget to try to put your keyword in your web address as well.

Reason: Keywords within your ad copy will appear in bold which will make them more likely to catch the eye of the user. Keywords also improve the relevance of the pay per click ad.

Use a call to action phrase:-

Description: Give the user a "next step" or what to expect when they hit your landing page. Use a verb to give it action. Some examples are "Buy our widgets" or "Sign up for our free newsletter."

Reason: There is a difference between a website about widgets and a website that sell widgets. Letting users know exactly what they can do on your website will increase the effectiveness of your pay per click ads and also increase the likelihood of a conversion.

Give users a reason to choose ur ad over a competitor:-

Description: Create your pay per click ad to show what different or special features your product/service has to offer. Is your widget the first widget to come with a satellite connection? Put that in your pay per click ad. Highlight what makes your product stand out. Also, make your pay per click ad informative. If you can include the price of your product/service, do so. If you are currently offering free shipping, try to incorporate it.

Reason: Using your pay per click ad to make your product/service stand out is one of the easiest ways to attract users and this applies to all advertising mediums. These suggestions will make your pay per click ad stand out from the automated and poorly-written ads.

Create separate ads for singular & plural version of your keywords:-

Description: The first tip emphasizes placing your keywords in your pay per click ads so you can gain the visual impact of bolded terms. Writing ad copy for your singular and plural keywords will require some changes to your PPC ad. The additional characters to change a singular keyword to a plural keyword can make a difference in description length. You also want your pay per click ads to remain grammatically correct so know you have to make changes to your title and description.

Reason: Bold keywords in your pay per click ads will make them more attractive to users. Do not forget to account for the singular and plural versions of your keywords.

Test different versions of Ad copy:-

Description: Create multiple pay per click ads for the same keywords. Google and other pay per click services will automatically calculate which ad performs better. After a period of testing, you can eliminate the ads that do not perform at the level you want or just keep the best one. This is commonly referred to as A/B split testing.

Reason: Every industry and niche market is unique and split testing your pay per click ads is the only true way to see what ad copy is most effective for you.

Use negative keyword matching:-

Description: When your pay per click ad is displayed to an audience you know it does not apply to, you have wasted an impression. You can use negative keyword matching to eliminate scenarios when your pay per click ad would be displayed. Negative keywords give you more control over when your PPC ad is triggered.

Reason: If you know of conditions when your pay per click ad is displayed when it does not apply, then you should prevent it by using negative keyword matching. By getting rid of these wasted impressions you will improve your CTR.

Improve ur Conversion rate:-

When pay per click (PPC) advertisers want to improve their conversion rate, they need to concentrate on their landing pages for the most part. At this point, the pay per click ad has done its job and delivered a user to your website. Now it is the job of your landing page and website to turn the user click into a conversion.

Why should I improve my conversion rate:-

Conversions are the whole reason why people get started in pay per click advertising. If you are not interested in selling more widgets, gaining more subscribers or getting more conversions then you are likely wasting your money. Here are some more reasons why you should improve your conversion rate.

Save Money: Since you are paying per click, you will reduce your cost per conversion and get a better return on your investment if you can turn more of those clicks into conversions.

Quality Score: Conversions are not included in Google's quality score algorithm, but anything you can do improve your landing page will help your quality score.

Your landing page should best describe your product/ service:-

Description: The landing page should offer visitors the best detailed information about the product/service you are offering with your pay per click ad. This likely means the home page of your website should not be your landing page unless your entire website is concentrated on on your product/service. Do not use generic landing pages.

Reason: Users clicked on your pay per click ad because they were interested enough to find out more about your product/service. Give visitors what they want as soon as you can because they will not spend a lot of time looking. You only have a few seconds of their attention. After a visitor clicks on the pay per click ad, the advertiser only has a few seconds to give the visitor what they want.

Give the visitor a clear next step:-

Description: The next step should create a conversion or work towards it. If your pay per click ad is advertising blue widgets then your landing page should allow the user to add a blue widget to their shopping cart which will lead to a conversion. This next step should be the most prominent part on your landing page.

Reason: After a visitor clicks on the pay per click ad, the advertiser only has a few seconds to give the visitor what they want. Help visitors to find and understand what the next step is and how to take it.

Reduce the no. of steps to gain a conversion:-

Description: Even if you provide visitors will an obvious next step, you can discourage conversions by making them take too many steps. What often happens is a website will require more information from the visitor than is absolutely necessary. This will result in long forms the visitor has to complete. Keep it simple.

Reason: Same reason as before. If you require too much time, effort or information from a visitor you will lose your conversion.

Reassure ur visitors & potential customers:-

Description: Consider your product/service and potential customers, then find out what would be most reassuring to your visitors. If you sell a product online, then reassure customers you offer secure payment processing. If you offer a local service, then reassure customers your company is reputable and has a track record of good customer service. If you need ideas, consider the reasons why your current customers do business with you.

Reason: If a visitor arrives at your website by clicking on your pay per click ad, it is very likely they are a first-time customer. This means they are not familiar with your website, company and product/service. Reassure the visitor you offer a trustworthy option.

Consider removing the navigation menu from landing page:-

Description: If your website offers many different product/services then a navigation menu on your landing page can inadvertently distract visitors from the conversion on your landing page. Carefully decide if your navigation menu supports the product/service advertised in your pay per click ads. You do not have to get rid of all navigation avenues. It is a good idea to at least give the visitor an option to go to your home page so they can orient themselves.

Reason: The website navigation on the landing page can serve as an exit from your conversion. If the navigation does not support your conversion efforts, consider removing it. Warning: For Google AdWords, this method could negatively affect your quality score or result in the deactivation of your pay per click ad.

Do not dilute ur landing page with items not needed:-

Description: Pay per click advertisers will often use an existing page of their website as their landing page and their page template will include advertisements or banner ads. Site tools are also overkill for a landing page and there are several other things that fall into this category. Keep your landing page concentrated on the purpose of your pay per click ads.

Reason: You do not have much time to convince a visitor. Do not waste valuable real estate on your landing page advertising items that are not related to your product/service or support your conversion.

Large images are good:-

Description: A picture is worth a thousand words and nothing communicates like an image. When a visitor is searching for a product/service, a large image can serve as confirmation the visitor has found what they are looking for when they hit your landing page. Large images also offer detail not easily communicated.

Reason: Internet users do not like to read or take the time to read when they are searching for something. Circumvent this hurdle by including a large image and tell the visitor more about your product/service without writing a word.

Make it possible to get the conversion later:-

Description: No matter how optimized and informative your landing page is there are variables you can not control which determine whether you will gain a conversion. So you need a "Plan B" to try to get a conversion later. You can offer a newsletter subscribe feature to allow visitors to be contacted later. You can send offers and coupons to your subscribers to nudge them towards your conversion.

Reason: Get more out of your cost per click by gaining valuable information about your potential customers and/or capturing a way to contact them later. Leave yourself an opportunity to gain a conversion later.

Include the price of ur product/service in ur ad copy:-

Description: Visitors may only be interested in finding out the price of your product/service because their decision is mostly based on cost. If your price is not good enough, then you save the money lost on a click that would not have resulted in a conversion. If your price is good enough, then you will gain a click and conversion.

Reason: Some products/services are very competitive commodities so price ends up determining whether a potential customer becomes a customer. If they can learn the cost of your item before they hit your landing page you can save money and improve your conversion rate.

Increase your impressions:-

Every pay per click (PPC) ad starts with impressions. Impressions are the foundation by which everything else is built on. You can not get a conversion without a click and you can not get a click without an impression.

Why should I increase my impressions:-

Clicks: Your pay per click ads can not generate clicks without impressions so increasing your impressions may turn into more clicks.

Marketing & Branding: Pay per click ads can help establish an identity for your product/service and company. The more users see your image or message, the more likely they will be to remember your product/service.

Make sure ur ads run continuously throughout the day:-

Description: Take into account the recommended maximum cost per click for each keyword and set your daily budget in accordance with projected expenditures. Monitor the performance of your keywords and adjust your budget to fit the actual expense.

Reason: If you reach your daily budget, PPC services will automatically discontinue running your pay per click ads for that day. If you reach your daily budget on a regular basis, or come close to reaching your daily budget early in the day your pay per click ads will begin to run intermittently.

The more keywords you have triggering your pay per click ad, the more chances your ad has to be displayed.

Add new Keywords:-

Description: Evaluate the keywords you are currently using and make sure there are no variations of current keywords or new words you are not using. Make sure the new keywords are still directly related to your product/service. Include the singular and plural versions of your existing keywords. Consider using misspelled versions of your keywords as well.

Reason: The more keywords you have triggering your pay per click ad, the more chances your ad has to be displayed.

Broaden your distribution settings:-

Description: If you have set your location targeting to just your immediate area, but have the capability for wider distribution, broaden the settings to include a wider regional or national audience.

Reason: You may be cutting out a large amount of potential traffic, and serviceable consumers by limiting yourself geographically in searches.

Reconsider your Keyword matching options:-

Description: With Google AdWords and other pay per click services, you can choose between several different keyword matching options. This controls the opportunities your pay per click ad will be triggered. For example, there is a big difference between exact match and broad match with Google AdWords. If you are using phrase, exact or negative keyword matching you are limiting your impressions to some degree. You need to review each instance you are using those keyword matching options to see if any can be lessened or removed.

Reason: By using a broader keyword matching option, you will increase the number of opportunities your pay per click ad will be displayed. It will likely mean your PPC campaign is not as cost effective, but it may be trade off you need to get more impressions.

Google Business Model!

Google’s business model is straightforward – attract as many users as possible to its site by providing what it considers to be “free” content, then monetize that content by selling ads. I think Pat Schroeder put it best when she said Google has “a hell of a business model – they’re going to take everything you create, for free, and sell advertising around it.

How Google Works

A view inside Google’s Web

How Google Works

Google searches harness one of the world’s most powerful computers. A search, which typically takes less than half a second, is the result of a complex journey that typically makes at least two stops, often thousands of miles apart.

Google creates its own version of the Internet, using automated programs called Googlebots, which crawl the web in search of new information. Web sites known to be important and frequently modified are scanned every minutes; sites less frequently updated may be scanned every few weeks.

Googlebots feed key information from a Web page to Google’s central network: URL, full text of the page, references to images and other embedded files and specific information the site owner creates about the page, called metadata.

At the central network, the information is indexed; every word that could be used in a search query is listed along with information referencing Web sites where the word can be found. The index is broken into ‘shards’ and sent to data centers - facilities made up of thousands of servers wired around the world; because centers may have slightly different versions of the index, depending on when they received the last update, users in different places may get slightly different results for the same search.

When people search Google, they are asking the company to find every instance of the term in its index and rank the corresponding documents by their relevance. This is how it happens, stage by stage. The user types a search query; the typical query is two to three words, which can make finding the most relevant results challenging; roughly one in 10 queries are miss-spelt.

Before Google provides any information, it identifies the searcher’s location through his or her Internet Protocol (IP) address. The IP helps speed up the search by sending the request to the nearest data center and allows Google to identify geographically appropriate ads.

The query is sent to the central network, then redirected to the nearest data center. At the datacenter, the search term is run through the index; matching terms are sent back to the central network, then to the user with a summary of the Web page, called snippet.

Google determines which web sites are the most relevant to a search term by using its ‘secret sauce’ a formula that weighs more than 200 measurements, such as the number of times the search appears on a Web page, the number of visitors to the page and the Page Rank - the number of sites linking to the page and the popularity of those sites.